24
Mar
10

Dancing with the Stars Premier

Don’t call me on Monday nights between seven and nine.  Dancing with the Stars is back!  I love this show and I”m always in a good mood after watching.   Hopefully this does not label me as a person who needs to get a life.  I do have a life, and I love it, but let me paint a picture:  dog snot (we live with a 75 lb. greyhound), grocery shopping, and sweats and t-shirts, except for the occasional night out with my husband.   If I go to lunch with a friend, you can be sure that our attire, and surroundings are not going to be anything spectacular.  That’s okay with me.  I spent almost thirty years getting dressed up for work.  I don’t miss it.  Now that I’m older, eight hours in high heels would turn my ankles into a pair of watermelons.  I actually thrive on having a casual, quiet life, but every now and then a girl needs a little glamour. 

Maybe that’s why I like this show, the glamour, that is.  Where else can I see sparkly long dresses, big hair, and men in formal attire without having to put on a pair of pantyhose?  And don’t forget, I get to do all this with a bowl of popcorn in front of me.  I am hoping that Dancing with the Stars is not the modern-day equivalent of The Lawrence Welk Show.  Maybe they just replaced the bubbles with a mirror ball and decided to give oldsters a pleasant hour to look forward to each week.  I can still envision my grandparents seated comfortably in the den, with the thermostat cranked up to 90 degrees, eating T.V. dinners and watching Lawrence Welk….”Take it away, Bobby!”.  Don’t get me wrong.  Those are some of my favorite memories of my grandparents.  I’m just not ready to be them.  Are there any young people out there who enjoy DWTS?

The season premier did not disappoint.  I thought the dancers as a whole were better acclimated on night one than any other season I remember.  My favorite performance was Evan Andrews and Anna Trebunskaya’s waltz.  It was elegant and romantic.  I’m 5’9″ and I sleep better at night knowing there are very tall men in the world who can dance.  I was also delighted when Niecy Nash dedicated her performance “to thick girls everywhere”.  “Honey, will you bring us some more popcorn?”  And who can forget Pamela Anderson’s quasi-stripper-esk version of the cha-cha.  I fear I will never be able to wipe it from my memory.  That’s what my husband said too, but for different reasons.  I will catch myself there and save you a full recap. You can find them all over the internet.  My favorite is Annie Barrett’s on EW.com.  In the meantime I will be vacuuming the popcorn kernels out of the living room carpet.

 

0 Responses to “Dancing with the Stars Premier”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Archives


